The Big Prize

Posted on Updated on

The Indian General Elections are held every 5 years and decide the composition of the Lok Sabha, i.e., the lower house of the Indian Parliament. The Lok Sabha can consist of a maximum of 552 representatives to represent the states and Union Territories. Each state gets a share of seats that is proportional to its population (more or less). Currently, 38 different parties have members in the Lok Sabha.

Wondering what the current Lok Sabha looks like? Who leads the Lok Sabha and by how much? Here’s an easy chart that breaks this down (Click on image for an enlarged view) . All data is taken from the Lok Sabha website


In the coming days, I hope to post more data on election trends, some stats on performance by legislators, analysis on individual candidates and opinion pieces. Stay tuned!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s