Data, analysis and opinion pieces to ready you for the Indian General Election, 2014. Dive right in!

Shruti - profile pic 1

Shruti is a graduate student at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy. She is a development professional specializing in South Asia.

Most of the data on this blog is public. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions/requests for the same. All the maps and analysis is my own. Please contact me before using it in any forum. Thanks!


2 thoughts on “About

    Shashank said:
    November 13, 2013 at 12:44 am


    I came across this blog today, the data put across is very interesting and its interpretation could go further. The data used to picture ‘who voted for whom’ is very critical to understand the kind of representation states have at the centre. For example, in Karnataka the entire eastern part belongs to the JDS however it is the congress who form the government at the state level. This data could be used to understand to explain the failed system of first past the post and the need for Proportional Representation. I would love to have your opinion on the electoral method.

    Thanks !

      shrutiviswanathan responded:
      November 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm

      Hi Shashank,

      Thanks for your comment. Yes, questions can be raised about the validity of our representation system. While the idea of proportional representation definitely has merit, I wonder if implementing it in the Indian context is logistically possible. Proportional representation is known for creating greater fragmentation in the political system. With 38 parties already laying claim to seats in the Indian Parliament, it may not be possible for India to implement proportional representation in a meaningful way. Further, there are complicated regional and population dynamics which would make proportional representation messier.

      The data on Who voted for Whom is from the 2009 general elections. Congress formed the state government after the Karnataka state elections in 2013 which gave it a single party majority (122/224 MLAs).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s